Syed Modi International: Wang and Marin win titles

LUCKNOW: India's closet lacked gold when Sourabh Verma dropped Tzu Wei Wang of Taipei in the men's final of the Syed Modi International Badminton Championship at the Badminton BBD Academy here on Sunday.

Wang won 21-15, 21-17. The female title went to Carolina Marin of Spain, who played with Phittyaporn Chaiwan of Thailand for a victory 21-12, 21-16.

Wang finished a super race in the tournament, having lost only one set to HS Prannoy in the quarterfinals. After defeating former World No. 1 Son Wan Ho of Korea 21-9, 21-7 in the semifinals on Saturday, he was definitely the favorite in the game.

But, it wasn't as if Sourabh didn't have his moments. Despite having a network game and delicious punches, he was unable to capitalize due to his many unforced errors.

And the most crucial of them came when they fell 17-18 in the second set. First it crashed into the network from a short distance; then again he found the net from half court; and finally pushed the bird down the bottom line to go down in 45 minutes.

Wang seemed more hungry and skillful, and also remained calm under pressure in front of a crowd of supporters of the home, who came in number to cheer on the Sourabh.

The women's final was a unilateral issue, since Phittayaporn's best effort failed to challenge his Spanish rival. Upon returning from an injury, Marin looked good, handing out a complete game to wear the crown.

Currently ranked as number 18 in the world, the Olympic and former world champion mixed her punches and falls with cunning, to keep Phittayaporn alert throughout the 40-minute affair. And finally, when Phittayaporn made a network with Marin's half blow, the Spaniard celebrated with her trademark cry. This is his first title here, having finished finalist in PV Sindhu in 2015.

Now he will focus on qualifying for the Tokyo Olympics next year. This will mean that she will miss the Premier Badminton League this season in her search for some valuable BWF ranking points.

There was joy for the Chinese contingent when Ji Ting He and Qiang Tang made their way to the men's doubles title. They won 21-18, 21-19 against Solgyu Choi and Seung Jae Seo of Korea.

In a Korean affair, the women's doubles title went to the seventh seeds, Ha Na Baek and Kyung Eun Jung, who got the best of the fourth ranked Ye Na Chang and Hye Rin Kim 23-21, 21-15 in 55 minutes.


Male singles: Tzu Wei Wang (Tpe) bt Sourabh Verma (Ind) 21-15, 21-17.

Single women: Carolina Marin (Esp) bt Phittayaporn Chaiwan (Tha) 21-12, 21-16.

Men's doubles: Ji Ting He/Qiang Tang (Chn) bt Solgyu Choi and Seung Jae Seo (Kor) 21-18, 21-19.

Women's doubles: Ha Na Baek/Kyung Eun Jung (Kor) beat Ye Na Chang/Hye Rin Kim (Kor) 23-21, 21-15.

Mixed doubles: Rodion Alimov/Alina Davletova (Rus) bt Marcus Ellis/Lauren Smith (Eng) 21-18, 21-16.