Karnataka: BJP awards ticket tickets to 13 disqualified MLAs

BENGALURU: One day after the Supreme Court said that disqualified MLAs from Congress-JD (S) can challenge the December 5 elections, the BJP quickly granted tickets to 13 of the 16 former lawmakers who joined the party on Thursday .

Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa They called their new future MLA colleagues and ministers, indicating they will enter the cabinet if they win the polls.

In the function in which the former rebels joined the party, the prime minister said: There is no doubt that we will win the 15 seats 100%. My regards to the old MLA, who are future MLA and ministers. I would like to assure you that we will fulfill the promise made to you.

With the hard goal of having to win at least six of the 15 seats to save its minority government, Yediyurappa asked the party workers to ensure the victory of the candidates. The responsibility (to secure his victory) rests with us, the karyakartas, he said and added that the sacrifice made by the disqualified MLAs helped me take an oath as prime minister.

The assembly has 17 vacancies, and elections are held to fill 15 vacancies. Elections to the two remaining constituencies - Maski (Raichur district) and Rajarajeshwari Nagar (city of Bengaluru) - will be held later. The BJP central election committee has announced tickets for 14 constituencies: 13 disqualified MLAs and a former BJP corporate, who entered the fray in Shivajinagar, represented by R Roshan Baig.

The sources said that BJP did not admit Baig, who resigned from Congress, in the party due to his alleged participation in the multimillion-dollar IMA Ponzi scam and his presence would have caused the party shame. M Sharavana, a former member of the BBMP council of Shivajinagar, is the BJP candidate who is likely to face MLA Baig seven times, who can launch into the fray as an independent.

The BJP did not announce a candidate for Ranebennur because the disqualified independent MLA R Shankar, who represented the segment, may find it difficult to win against former Congress President KB Koliwad. Shankar can be nominated for the council.

The sources said that the son of the rural development and panchayat raj minister, KS Eshwarappa, KE Kanthesh, is interested in Ranebennur since Kurubas, who are in large numbers in the constituency, could vote in block on the community lines. Shankar is also from the same community.

Deputy Chief Minister Laxman Savadi received the small rejection when the party handed the Athani ticket to disqualify MLA Mahesh Kumathalli. The sources said it prevailed over the BJP to give the ticket to Kumathalli.

Savadi has three months to enter the assembly or the council to remain in the cabinet. The rules say that a minister, who is not a member of any of the chambers, has six months to become a legislator. Savadi became a minister three months ago.