PoK in UT of Jammu and Kashmir, Gilgit-Baltistan in Ladakh on a new map of India

NEW DELHI: Kashmir (PoK) occupied by Pakistan is part of the newly created Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir, while in the UT of Ladakh on new maps published by the government on Saturday after the fork.

In a notification, the Ministry of Internal Affairs also released the new map of India representing the two UTs with Muzaffarabad 'capital' PoK within the geographical boundaries of the country.

According to the new map, PoK remains with Jammu and Kashmir UT and Gilgit-Baltistan with UT of Ladakh, according to the maps.

The internal affairs ministry said Ladakh UT consists of two Kargil districts and Leh while the rest of the former state of Jammu and Kashmir is in the UT of Jammu and Kashmir.

In 1947, the erstwhile state of Jammu and Kashmir had the following 14 districts - Kathua, Jammu, Udhampur, Reasi, Anantnag, Baramulla, Poonch, Mirpur, Muzaffarabad, Leh and Ladakh, Gilgit, Gilgit Wazarat, Chilhas and Tribal Territory, a home ministry statement said.

By 2019, the government of the former state of Jammu and Kashmir had reorganized the areas of these 14 districts in 28 districts. The names of the new districts were: Kupwara, Bandipur, Ganderbal, Srinagar , Budgam, Shopian, Kulgam, Rajouri, Ramban, Doda, Kishtwar, Samba and Kargil.

Out of these, Kargil district was carved out from the area of ​​Leh and Ladakh district.

The Leh district of the new UT of Ladakh has been defined in the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganization (Removal of Difficulties) Second Order, 2019, issued by the President of India, to include the areas of the districts of Gilgit, Gilgit Wazarat, Chilhas and Tribal Territory of 1947, in addition to the remaining areas of Leh and Ladakh districts of 1947, after carving out the Kargil District.

The maps prepared by Survey General of India representing the new UTs of Jammu and Kashmir, and Ladakh, created on October 31, 2019, along with the map of India, are published, according to the statement.

On Parliament's recommendation, the President effectively dismantled Article 370 of the Constitution of India and gave his consent to the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganization Act, 2019.

Under the leadership of the prime minister Narendra Modi and the supervision of the Interior Minister of the Union, Amit Shah, the former state of Jammu and Kashmir was reorganized as the new Territory of the Jammu and Kashmir Union and the new territory of the Ladakh Union on October 31, 2019, According to the statement.