Sonia Gandhi appoints Bhupinder Singh Hooda as CLP leader in the Haryana assembly

CHANDIGARH: Main leader and former CM Bhupinder Singh Hooda He has been appointed leader of the legislative party of Congress (CLP) and opposition leader (LOP) Haryana.

The experienced 72-year-old leader who served as CM twice would be perhaps one of the most powerful leaders of the opposition party in the state with 31 MLA. Previously, O P Chautala was LOP with such a significant force of legislators in 2009.

As a LOP, Hooda would be entitled to the status of cabinet minister. The sources confirmed that the high command of the party Congress made the decision taking into account the fact that it was for Hooda that the party improved its position from 17 seats to 31 this time. Hooda's appointment as leader of the Congress party at the assembly was approved on Saturday by the national party president. Sonia Gandhi .

Earlier on Friday, a resolution was passed by the Congress legislators unanimously authorizing Sonia Gandhi to elect the CLP leader.

While announcing Hooda’s elevation as leader of opposition in Haryana, senior leader Gulam Nabi Azad said that Hooda’s name as CLP leader has been cleared by Sonia Gandhi.

In addition to praising the head of the Hooda and Haryana Pradesh Congress Committee (HPCC) Kumari Selja for his efforts in the assembly polls, Azad said his combination had worked well for the party and, despite the short time they had, they ensured a good performance of the Congress. Azad also said they lost in several seats with a very thin margin.

He also claimed that the BJP ruling in Haryana had committed irregularities to guarantee the victory of its candidates. In predicting the midterm polls in Haryana, Azad also claimed that the current coalition government in Haryana would not continue for a long time in the future and that Congress would form the government in the next elections.

In the elections held recently for the 90-member Haryana assembly, BJP won 40, the JJP-10 of Congress 31, the Independents-7, the Haryana Lokhit-1 Gopal Kanda Party and the INLD won a seat.