Government publishes new political map of India showing UTs of J&K, Ladakh

NEW DELHI: The government launched the new Saturday after the fork of Jammu and Kashmir in two new ones: J&K and.

The map, published today by the Ministry of Internal Affairs, shows a boundary that separates the two newly created Union territories.

The UT and Ladakh are headed by the vice governors G C Murmu and R K Mathur, respectively.

This is the first time that a state became two UT. The total number of states in the country is now 28, while the total UT has risen to nine.

The Jammu and Kashmir UT has a legislature like Puducherry, while Ladakh will remain a UT without a legislature like Chandigarh.