Deodhar Trophy: Axar Patel, Mayank Markande established the victory of 136 races of India C over India B

RANCHI: All terrain Axar Patel He crushed a 98 of 61 balls before Mayank Markande, who was spinning his leg, claimed four wickets when India C defeated India B for 136 runs on the third and final day of a day Deodhar Trophy Here on Saturday.

First hitting, India C registered a challenging 280 by 5, riding on the brightness of Axar and the 96-ball 76 of Virat Singh.

Then they returned to say goodbye to India B by 144 in 43.4 overs to complete the drubbing.

For India B, Baba Aparajith emerged as the top scorer with a ball 90 of 53 but received no support from the other hand.

India B and India C have already qualified for the final after India A lost its two ties and the two teams will face each other in the summit clash here on Monday.

Chasing the total, the India B hitters threw openings, losing wickets at regular intervals.

The starters Ruturaj Gaikwad (20) and Yashashvi Jaiswal (28) were the first to go after being fired by Diwesh Pathania and Jalaj Saxena since India B was reduced to 74 for two in 17.5 overruns.

However, India B suffered a collapse after Kedar Jadhav (5), Nitish Rana (1), Parthiv Patel (1), Vijay Shankar (9) and Anukul Roy (1) failed to reach double figures when they fell to 115 for 7 in 35 more.

Shabhaz Nadeem (12) left too early, leaving Baba Aparajith stranded at the other end. Aparajith was eliminated at 44, while Roosh Kalaria (6) was the last batter to be fired.

Previously, India C had a slow start, losing three wickets by 54 in 13.1 overs.

Shubman Gill (1) was the first to enter second place when he was caught by Kalaria in front of Shankar, while Priyam Garg (18) and Anmolpreet Singh (23) were sent back on 13 and 14 by Mohammed Siraj (1/60) and S Nadeem (2/37) respectively.

Suryakumar Yadav (10) was also eliminated by Nadeem early, while India C lost half of his side when Dinesh Karthik (34) was cleared by Nitish Frog (1/30).

Virat Singh (76 not out) and Axar Patel (98 not out) then joined hands, sharing an unbeaten 154 run stand off 112 balls.

Axar was the dominant of the two, as he faced the limits, breaking 13 four and three six in his 61-ball innings.

Singh played the second violin, scoring three limits and so many six during his 96-ball hit.

Such was the domain of the two batters that the captain of India B, Parthiv Patel, introduced up to eight bowlers, but failed to produce a breakthrough since the duo led the team to a challenging total.

For India B, Shahbaz Nadeem (2/37) claimed two wickets, while Vijay Shankar (1/18), Mohammed Siraj (1/60) and Nitish Rana (1/30) accounted for one each.

Brief score

India C : 280/5 in 49.6 overs (Axar Patel 98 off 61, Virat Singh 76 off 96; S Nadeem 2/37).

India B : 144 total in 43.4 overs (B Aparajith 53; M Markande 4/25).