PKL 7: Warriors of Bengal subdue Dabang Delhi for the crown

AHMEDABAD: It was an unforgettable night for fans of kabaddi as optimistic Bengal Warriors the new Season 7 of the Pro-Kabaddi League emerged ( PKL 7) hitting champions Dabang Delhi convincingly (39-34) in the clash of the summit at the crowded stadium in Ahmedabad on Saturday night.

Driven by the vociferous supporters of both sides, who were standing enjoying every moment of the exciting encounter, Bengal, kept his clean record of never having lost against Delhi this season, to take the coveted trophy.

Delhi, which led the table this season, ran to a 6-0 lead at the start, mainly due to the young sensation of Naveen Kumar, who was later declared the most valuable player (MVP) of the season. I am very satisfied with the award, but I would have been happier if my team had won the trophy, said Naveen, 19.

However, Bengal, who finished second behind Delhi in the league stage, fought bravely to reach 16-16 at the end of the first half. And even advanced mainly due to the efforts of the all-terrain Iranian, Mohammad Nabibakhsh, who was captaining the side in the absence of Maninder Singh.

From there, it was the battle of ding-dong for supremacy with the score leveled at 17-17 at the break. Bengal relied on Nabibakhsh services, as the SUV (10 points) established a huge 10-point lead with only eight minutes left for the final whistle.

I am very happy that the crowd has supported us to the fullest, said Bengal assailant star Sukesh Hegde after the game, who along with K Prapanjan contributed all their experience of appearing in a final.

Naveen did his best towards the end, but it was quite late. Delhi captain Joginder Narwal admitted that his team made more mistakes than his opponents and therefore ended up on the losing side. Bengal played better than us, since we made numerous mistakes, especially in the second half, said a discouraged Joginder.

Monte Litera Zee champions

Patna's Mount Litera Zee School won the KBD Juniors title when they beat Mother Khazani Public School in Delhi 42-32 in the final. Yash Raj (16 points) of the winning team was declared the best assailant, while Tilak Raj (5) emerged as the best defender of the same school.