The 6 BSP MLA merges with the Congress in Rajasthan

JAIPUR: In a major political development in, the six MLAs decided to merge with the ruling Congress and delivered a letter of intent to speaker CP Joshi on Monday night.

The six MLAs met with Prime Minister Ashok Gehlot before delivering the merger letter to Joshi.

When asked if he had accepted the merger, Joshi told TOI: I received the merger letter and the procedure will follow once the office opens tomorrow (Tuesday) in the morning.

This is a 2009 repetition when the six MLA BSPs in the state joined the Gehlot-led congressional government that was formed after the results of the 2008 suspended assembly.

Boost for Congress before civic surveys

As now, the BSP MLAs initially provided external support to the Gehlot government, but then merged with Congress and obtained ministerial positions.

After the merger, the Congress count will reach 106 in the 200-member House, which currently has two vacant seats. Congress has an MLA ally of Rashtriya Lok Dal and demands the support of 12 of the 13 independent MLAs.

The current merger is considered a great victory for Congress before this year's municipal polls and panchayat polls early next year. Political experts were speculating that BJP could do a Karnataka in Rajasthan by sneaking BSP and independent candidates.

BSP MLA Joginder Singh Awana told TOI: “All the MLAs in our group were sitting together for a long time. For a common interest in bringing development to our respective constituencies, we decided to merge with Congress. This will benefit the state. ” Awana is an MLA from the constituency of Nadbai.

“Prime Minister Ashok Gehlot has already been helping us and has never treated us as MLA of another party that opposes him and his policies in the assembly. Initially we had a meeting with Gehlot Sat at night. Later, we delivered our letter of consent for our merger to the speaker of the assembly Dr. CP Joshi, ”said Sandeep Yadav, a BSP MLA from Tijara.

Other BSP MLAs include Wajib Ali (Nagar), Deepchand Kheria (Kisangarh Bas), Lakhan Meena (Karauli) and Rajendra Gudha ().