Indraranga will embrace district theater groups at festival

Team Paikpara Indraranga, which stood out with its acclaimed production, Awddyo Sesh Rajani, is preparing for its annual festival this year. Although the group generally organizes an elaborated festival every year, presenting several popular works from all over the country, this year has decided to celebrate differently.

The group leader, Indrajit Chakraborty, said: “As outside Broadway, we go outside the Academy. Usually, we receive nationally famous theater groups from all over the country. We also invite productions based in Kolkata. We realized that district groups often feel overwhelmed by the greatness of Calcutta. So this year, we will invite theater groups from the 22 districts and organize a theater competition. We will reward the best productions, actors, directors, etc. The best productions will be held at the festival, in November.

Previously, the group boasted theater stars like Paresh Rawal , Saurabh Shukla Makrand Unhink & Sharman Joshi To name a few. “While most of us know these people for their contribution in the movies, they were equally active on stage. So far, we enjoy every great production. I have been working with Natya Akademi closely for a while. I felt it is important to focus on the district groups now. When Anirban Bhattacharya won a nationally acclaimed theatre award for his performance in Awddyo Sesh Rajani, we all were super excited. When Shandip Bhattacharya’s Rangashrom, from Berhampore, won the same award for Santap, no one cared. Thus, we want to bring theatre groups of the districts in the limelight. Some brilliant productions are being made & they should get their dues,” said Indrajit.