McIlroy leads Koepka for PGA Tour Player of the Year honors

Rory McIlroy he added another award to his trophy cabinet when he was named PGA Tour Player of the Year on Wednesday for the third time after a 2018-19 campaign crowned by his triumph in the FedExCup championship.

The 30-year-old Northern Irishman beat Brooks Koepka , Matt Kuchar & Xander Schauffele in a player vote for the Jack Nicklaus Prize.

McIlroy, who won the award in 2012 & 2014, made 17 of 19 cuts while racking up three victories, including at the season-ending Tour Championship where he also claimed the FedExCup.

The four-times major champion's other victories came at The Players Championship & RBC Canadian Open, where he set a tournament record & won by seven shots -- the largest winning margin of the season.

PGA Tour Commissioner Jay Monahan said in a statement: "While there are a number of honors one can receive in this game, PGA Tour Player of the Year has to be among the most satisfying as it comes directly from his peers.

"Rory's season was a model of consistency punctuated by milestone victories & ultimately the FedExCup in Atlanta."

Koepka, who was named PGA of America Player of the Year two weeks ago, was considered the favorite for the award after finishing in the top five in the top four, even in the PGA Championship where he won his fourth important title. .