BAI announces a team of 23 members for the BWF World Youth Championship

New Delhi, September 4 () The Badminton Association of India (BAI) announced on Wednesday a 23-member Indian squad for the BWF World Youth Championship to be held in Kazan, Russia, from September 30 to October 13.

The challenge of single boys will be led by Sathish Kumar of Tamil Nadu, who has accumulated an impressive total of 925 points from the All India Junior Ranking tournaments held in Panchkula and Bangalore in the month of August.

In addition to Sathish, Rohan Gurbani of Nagpur, Maisnam Meiraba of Manipur and Pranav Rao Gandham of Telengana will represent India in children's singles.

The women's team will be headed by Tasnim Mir, from Gujarat, who secured a total of 813 points in the two qualifying tournaments.

Tasnim will be joined by Aditi Bhatt and Unnati Bisht of Uttarakhand, and Trisha Hegde of Karnataka.

When considering the selection of the player, each of the winners of the stage obtained 500 while the runner-up packed 425. The rest of the fork points are: semifinals (388), quarterfinals (275) and pre quarterfinals ( 192). )

For the girls' doubles, Aditi Bhatt and Tanisha Crasto de Goa will lead the Indian charge after securing consecutive victories in the two qualifying tournaments that gave them a total of 1000 points.

In the men's doubles category, Manjit Singh Khwairakpam and Dingku Singh Konthoujam of Manipur will be the highest hopes of the Indian contingent after leading the table with 852 points in two tournaments.

Tanisha Crasto will also lead the mixed doubles charge with Ishaan Bhatnagar, Chattisgarh's partner, after the couple's brilliant career in the two qualifying tournaments. The couple topped the leaderboard after winning the qualification tournaments and blocking 1000 points with the victories.

While selecting the team, BAI examined the performances of the young ferries at the two Indian Junior Qualification tournaments held in Panchkula and Bangalore last month and considered the cumulative ranking points each won, said the secretary general from BAI, Ajay K Singhania. .

In the previous edition, Lakshya Sen brought the fifth bronze medal for single men of India from this prestigious tournament and the team will expect to increase the medal count of India. The technical team will be headed by junior national coach Sanjay Mishra and the team will undergo a training camp, starting September 13 in Bangalore that will continue until September 27. ATK ATK