Usman Khawaja fell when Steve Smith returns for the fourth Ash Test

SYDNEY: Australia on Tuesday dropped the batter fighting Usman Khawaja for the room deadly spoils Test against England in Old trafford , giving way to Steve Smith The return.

The selectors named a squad of 12 men for the Test as of Wednesday, with David Warner and Marcus Harris as starters, but leaving out Khawaja, who averaged only 20.33 in six innings in the batting series at number three.

The batter leader Smith, who suffered a concussion after being hit in the head by Jofra Archer in the second test at Lord's, returns after staying out of the agonizing loss last week at Headingley, which leveled the series of five 1-1 matches with two tests to play.

Smith has scored 378 runs in an average of 126 in three innings in the series and returned to the field in last week's tour game against Derbyshire.

Khawaja, 32, scored 72 when he opened the bat against Derbyshire, but it wasn't enough to convince the selectors to keep him aside.

Harris has been retained after making eight and 19 at Headingley in his first deadly spoils Test then scoring 64 against Derbyshire before he was run out in a mix-up with Khawaja.

Coach Justin Langer told reporters in Manchester that he was very clear in 12, not so sure in 11, and that the decision was reduced to bowling.

Bowler James Pattinson has also been left out, leaving fast players Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Starc and Peter Siddle to compete for three places.

Langer said losing to Headingley for a wicket after taking England for 67 in the first innings was a really difficult loss for the team, but his preparations for the next game had been solid.

"We felt like we got the deadly spoils stolen the other day," he said of England's successful chase of their record 359 target. "To England's great credit, that's what they did -- they won that Test match.

Now we have to decide what we are going to do: we are going to use that as fire, we are not going to feel sorry for ourselves.

Australia squad: David Warner, Marcus Harris, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Travis Head, Matt Wade, Tim Paine (capt), Pat Cummins, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood.