Tsitsipas and Kyrgios to play in Laver Cup

World number seven Stefanos Tsitsipas is ready to debut in the Laver Cup in Geneva in September for Team Europe, while Australia Nick Kyrgios He was also named in Team World, organizers said Tuesday.

The Laver Cup , a three-day team event between Europe and the rest of the world, became an official part of the ATP Tour in May this year following its runaway success in its first two editions in Prague and Chicago.

The event, which is named after the great Australian Rod Laver, who won 11 Grand Slams between 1960 and 1969, attracted crowds full last year when several high-ranking players such as Roger Federer and Novak Djokovic participated with the Europeans winning 13-8.

It's like a dream come true to be part of this incredible team, with Roger and Rafa (Nadal), whom I have admired since I was a small child, along with Dominic (Thiem), Sascha (Alexander Zverev) and Fabio (Fognini), Tsitsipas said in a statement.

In tennis we are always alone on the court, it is such an individual sport. It will be a new experience for me to play in a team, especially in this team of incredible champions.

Tsitsipas and Kyrgios make a show at the Citi Open in Washington earlier this month, where the Australian survived the young Greek in a fascinating semifinal that was decided by a final tiebreaker.

Kyrgios is no stranger to the Laver Cup , having played for Team World in the first two editions which were both won by Team Europe.

"I've always said that the Laver Cup is my favourite week of the year, and how much it means to me to get around the team and play for something bigger than just myself," Kyrgios said.

We have had some heartbreaking losses in the last two years and for me it means everyone has the opportunity to go out again with the team and try to get the victory for Team World.

John McEnroe, seven-time Grand Slam champion in singles, is the Team World captain, while Team Europe is led by his former arch-rival and 11-time Grand Slam champion Bjorn Borg.

The Laver Cup will run from September 20-22.

Team Europe: Rafael Nadal , Roger Federer, Dominic Thiem, Alexander Zverev, Stefanos Tsitsipas and Fabio Fognini.

Team World: Kevin Anderson, John Isner, Milos Raonic, Nick Kyrgios and Denis Shapovalov.