Kerala hard domestic cricket campaign awaits

KOCHI: Kerala's male cricket team will begin their national campaign this season with a match against Chhattisgarh in the Vijay Hazare Trophy (50 years old) on September 25.

Located in Elite Group A, Kerala will also play Saurashtra, Andhra, Mumbai, Jharkhand, Goa, Hyderabad and Karnataka for the next fortnight in the one-day competition.

In the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy for the T20 national championship, Kerala stands next to Tamil Nadu, Manipur, Vidarbha, Rajasthan and Uttar Pradesh in Group B.

However, the biggest challenge for Kerala will come in the Ranji Trophy That will start a little late this season. Placed in Group A Elite, the semifinalists of last season begin their campaign with consecutive games at home.

In his first match, Kerala will face Delhi on December 9, which will be followed by a match against Bengal on December 17. The other two home games for Kerala are against Punjab (January 11) and the Rajasthan team (January 19).

However, the biggest test for Kerala would come during their away games, where they face strong opponents. Kerala's first away game will be Christmas day against Gujarat.

They will play their remaining away games in the new year, against Hyderabad (January 3), Andhra (January 27) before signing their group commitments against the current Vidarbha champions (February 4).

The Ranji format remains unchanged, with the first six of the 18 (9 + 9) Elite A and B teams making the rooms along with two from Group C and one from the Plate group.

Kerala domestic hours

Ranji Trophy

vs Delhi (local) - December 9-12

vs Bengal (local) - December 17-20

vs Gujarat (Visitor) - December 25-28

Hyderabad (Visitor) - January 3-6

vs Punjab (local) - January 11-14

vs Rajasthan (local) - January 19-22

vs Andhra (Visitor) - January 27-30

vs Vidarbha (Visitor) - February 4-7

Vijay Hazare Trophy

vs Chhattisgarh - September 25

vs Saurashtra - September 26

vs Andhra - September 29

vs Mumbai - October 1

vs Jharkhand - October 5

vs Goa - October 9

vs Hyderabad - October 11

vs Karnataka - October 13

Syed Mushtaq Ali T20

vs Tamil Nadu - November 8

vs Tripura - November 11

vs Manipur - November 12

vs Vidarbha - November 14

vs Rajasthan - November 15

vs UP - November 17