New Zealand will start the Testing Championship with a tour of Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka will receive New Zealand between August and September for two test matches and three international Twenty20, Sri Lanka Cricket Board (SLC) said on Friday.

The tests are part of the inaugural world. Test Championship which involves the nine best ranked test nations competing in a league between July 2019 and April 2021, with the two best teams advancing to the final to be held in England in June 2021.

The New Zealand national team will arrive in Sri Lanka on August 3, 2019 to participate in a series of cricket matches, the SLC said in a statement.

During the tour, New Zealand will play two Test matches and three T20 games.

New Zealand will be the first team to travel through Sri Lanka since the suicide attacks on Easter Sunday that killed 253 people on the island.

The bombing prompted Sri Lanka to postpone a tour of the U-19 side of Pakistan, which was scheduled to play two four-day matches and three of a day in Galle and Hambantota.

The last time Sri Lanka received New Zealand was in 2012, with the series of two Tests that finished 1-1.

The teams are currently in the 50 World Cup in England and Wales, with the Kiwis ready to secure the fourth-place semi-final, while Sri Lanka is out of the race and has a group game against India on Saturday.