Movement of UP in unconstitutional OBCs: Center

NEW DELHI: In a rare pronouncement, on Tuesday the government described as unconstitutional and inappropriate the recent movement of the government led by the BJP to include 17 other backward class communities () in the list of Scheduled Castes (SC), noting that only Parliament had the right to make such changes in the lists of castes according to the Constitution.

The order issued by the UP government is neither appropriate nor constitutional. I will ask you not to issue caste certificates based on that order ... Otherwise, the matter will go to court and be eliminated, without anyone getting any benefit, said the Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment.

This happened after the leader of the BSP, Satish Chandra Misra, elevated the leadership of the government led by Yogi Adityanath on June 24 to the magistrates and district commissioners to issue SC certificates to the 17 communities of OBC: Kashyap, Rajbhar, Dhivar, Bind, Kumhar, Kahar, Kewat, Nishad, Bhar, Mallah, Prajapati, Dhimar, Batham, Turha, Godia, Manjhi and Machua, before the partial elections to 12 seats in the UP.

Gehlot, who is also the leader of Rajya Sabha, said the UP government should follow the proper procedure if it wanted to continue with its proposal. You must first send a proposal to the Center ... then we will consider it. This matter has come to Parliament two or three times in the past as well, but it was not agreed, he said.

Previously, Misra said that the power to make changes to the SC list only corresponds to the Parliament under subclause (2) of article 341 of the Constitution. The BSP leader said that the UP government had eliminated 17 castes from the OBC list, but had not yet been included in the SC list. This will deprive them of the benefits of the SC or OBC category.