Deputy Sunny Deol appoints a representative in the constituency of Gurdaspur and faces the legend

GURDASPUR: Bollywood actor and MP Sunny Deol has appointed a writer as his representative to the constituency of Gurdaspur Lok Sabha, a measure that was criticized by Congress, which described it as a betrayal of the voters' mandate.

In a letter issued on the letterhead of the Gurdaspur deputy, Deol appointed Gurpreet Singh Palheri as his representative to attend the meetings and follow important matters.

I hereby appoint Gurpreet Singh Palheri, son of Supinder Singh, resident of Palheri village, Mohali district, Punjab, as my representative to attend the meetings and follow important matters related to my parliamentary constituency, Gurdaspur (Punjab), with the relevant authorities, The letter signed by Deol reads.

Palheri, who is a writer and line producer, said the letter was issued on June 26.

He tried to minimize the problem and said: (quote) is for local affairs. It is like being at the service of the people of Gurdaspur 24 hours a day.

However, he claimed that the Gurdaspur MP and the BJP were in charge of public affairs in the Lok Sabha constituency.

Palheri said Deol would visit the constituency of Gurdaspur every month. Now he will come to Gurdaspur after the Parliament session ends, he added.

Meanwhile, Punjab Cabinet Minister Sukhjinder Singh Randhawa criticized Deol for appointing a representative and described the measure of treason with voters in the border constituency.

Sunny Deol has betrayed voters of Gurdaspur constituency by appointing a representative, said Randhawa, an MLA from Dera Baba Nanak, an Assembly segment which is part of the Gurdaspur Lok Sabha constituency.

How can an MP appoint his representative? Voters have elected Sunny Deol as MP, not his representative, Randhawa told PTI.

Last month, the new deputy-elect confronted the people of the constituency after posting a video of his vacation on Instagram.

Deol became MP after defeating the Congress' Sunil Jakhar with a margin of 82,459 votes in the polls of Lok Sabha.