Manmohan Singh is not on the list of Rajya Sabha of the friend of the Congress DMK

CHENNAI: Two party candidates were nominated for the election on Monday, effectively nullifying the speculations of the former prime minister Manmohan Singh Receiving from with your support.

The president of DMK, MK Stalin, announced that the third seat was being assigned to the ally MDMK, in line with his previous agreement to the poll with the party founded by Vaiko.

According to a statement by Stalin, the trade union leader of the M Shanmugam party and the main defender P Wilson are the nominees for the biennial elections, scheduled for July 18.

The other seat is being assigned to MDMK as previously agreed, Stalin said.

DMK agreed to assign a post from Rajya Sabha to MDMK as part of its prior agreement to the survey for the Lok Sabha choice.

Previously, it was speculated that Singh, previously sent from Assam, could be nominated by Tamil Nadu with the support of DMK.

The biennial elections to fill six Rajya Sabha seats of the state will take place on July 18. They will be carried out to fill the vacancies that will be presented due to the retirement of the members in exercise: four of AIADMK and one of each of DMK and CPI, next month.

Both the AIADMK opinion and the DMK can send three MP each to the Upper House by virtue of their respective strength in the state assembly.

The retiring members are: T Rathinavel, Dr V Maitreyan, K R Arjunan and Dr R Lakshmanan (all AIADMK), (DMK) and D Raja (CPI), whose terms end on 24 July.

Incidentally, Kanimozhi was elected to the Lok Sabha from Tuticorin constituency in the general choice.

According to the EC calendar, the notification for the biennial ballot boxes of Rajya Sabha will be issued on Monday and the last date to submit the nominations will be July 8.

The examination of the nominations will be taken the next day and the last date to withdraw will be July 11, he said.

The poll, if necessary, will be conducted from 9 am to 4 pm on July 18 and the count the same day at 5 pm, he said.