If I give him away, I won't be back: Gould Steyn after Tendulkar doesn't come out.

LONDON: South African pacemaker Dale Steyn has stated that the referee Ian Gould I had denied it Sachin Tendulkar Wicket when the big hitting hit a historic double ton ODI in 2010 for fear of backlash from the Indian crowd.

Steyn said that when the batter was about 10 runs from the magic figure, he had caught Tendulkar in front of the gate, but field judge Gould denied the bowler.

Tendulkar scored the first double hundred in ODI cricket, and it was against us in Gwalior. And I actually remember - I think I got him out lbw when he was about 190-odd. Ian Gould was the umpire, and he gave him not out, Steyn said during a Sky Sports Cricket Podcast with pacemakers from England James Anderson .

And I was thinking, 'Why, why didn't you give it? That is so dead. ' And he said: 'Mate, look around you; If I give him up, I won't go back to the hotel. '

Brief notices

Explore the writings

Tendulkar finally scored the first double-hundred in one-day international matches with his undefeated 200, leading India to a whopping 403 for three in the second ODI of the bilateral series.

India won the game 153 times after sacking South Africa 248 in 42.5 overs.

comments