Sarfaraz Ahmed will be demoted in the new central list of PCB contracts

KARACHI: The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) decided to demote its 2017 Champions Trophy-winning captain, Sarfaraz Ahmed, from the ‘A 'to‘ C' category in the new core contracts, to be delivered to players in August.

According to details, the Board has also decided not to reduce central contract retainers or party fees despite the coronavirus pandemic that suspends all cricket activities worldwide.

The PCB last year in August had awarded core contracts to just 19 players, omitting older adults like Muhammad Hafeez and Shoaib Malik from the list.

The number of contracted players was reduced from 32 to 19 according to a political decision of the Board.

Brief notices

Explore the writings

Sarfaraz remained in category A with Babar Azam and Yasir Shah since at that time he was captain in all three formats.

But in November, the selectors not only eliminated the wicketkeeper-batsman, Sarfaraz as captain, but also as a player of the three formats.

Sarfaraz has been demoted to category C in the new contracts as he is not currently a member of the gaming team, a PCB source said.

The new roster of hired players is being finalized by a committee that includes the CEO of PCB, Wasim khan , Cricket Director of International Operations, Zakir Khan and the head coach and head coach, Misbah-ul-Haq.

In recent core contracts, the Board increased retainers by 25 to 40 percent, and this time the source said the PCB committee is considering increasing the testing fee despite the financial crisis caused by the coronavirus pandemic. and blockades around the world.

In existing contracts, test match fees are Rs 762,300 for category A players, Rs 665,280 for category B and Rs 568,260 for category C players.

The source said Abid Ali is likely to be promoted to Category B with test partner Shan Masood, while Hasan Ali could lose his contract.

Currently centrally recruited players include:

Category A: Babar Azam, Sarfaraz Ahmed and Yasir Shah.

Category B: Azhar Ali, Haris Sohail Imam-ul-Haq, Asad Shafiq, Mohammad Abbas, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Wahab Riaz.

Category C: Shan Masood, Fakhar Zaman, Muhammad Aamir, Abid Ali, Muhammad Rizwan, Hasan Ali, Usman Shinari and Imad Wasim .