The center dispatches public health teams to the 20 most affected districts to help states contain virus

NEW DELHI: The Center has decided to deploy twenty plants in as many affected districts with a maximum number of positive cases to assist states in implementing the containment strategy to combat infectious disease.

The twenty districts, in nine states and in Delhi, are Mumbai, Thane, Pune in Maharashtra; Bhopal, Indore in Madhya Pradesh; Ahmedabad, Surat and Vadodara in Gujarat; Southeast and Central Districts in Delhi; Jaipur and Jodhpur in Rajasthan; Agra and Lucknow in Uttar Pradesh; Hyderabad in Telangana; Chennai in Tamil Nadu; Calcutta in West Bengal; and Kurnool, Guntur and Krishna in Andhra Pradesh.

These teams are made up of experts from Control (NCDC), AIIMS, JIPMER and the All India Institute of Hygiene and Public Health, among others. The teams will submit reports to the additional chief secretary, chief secretary, secretary (health) of the respective states detailing their observations, areas for improvement and recommendations, according to a memorandum from the office issued on May 2.

Regional directors under the ministry of health in these nine states and one Union Territory will coordinate the deployment of these teams with state health authorities.

All 20 districts are in the red zone.

It has included 130 districts of the country in the '' red '' zone, 284 in the '' orange '' zone and 319 in the '' green '' zone based on the incidence of Covid-19 cases, duplication rate , Testing extension and surveillance comments.

The list will be reviewed weekly or sooner and will be communicated to states for additional follow-up action.