Relief for Uddhav, Maha legislative council polls on May 21

NEW DELHI: The Electoral Commission announced biennial elections to nine legislative seats on Friday, and the elections will be held on May 21. The election schedule, deferred earlier due to the closure, will allow the prime minister to become a member of the legislature state before the May 27 deadline to remain in office.

Looking at other elections currently on hold due to the Covid-19 crisis, including Rajya Sabha's biennial 18-seat polls, as well as legislative council seat elections in, UP and - the EC said it would take a review next week.

Constitutional standards require that a (including PM and CM) who is not a member of either House of Parliament/Legislature at the time of taking office, be elected within the next six months. Uddhav's six-month term will expire on May 27.