Government reconstitutes empowered group at Covid-19

NEW DELHI: With the national blockade extended for another two weeks to contain the spread of novels, the government reconstituted empowered groups on Friday to plan and ensure the implementation of response activities.

On March 29, the Center created 11 empowered groups to ensure a comprehensive and integrated response to the Covid-19 pandemic. These groups have been established under the Disaster Management Law. A total of 80 high-ranking officials have been deputies in the 11 groups who can seek the guidance of Cabinet Secretary Rajiv Gauba.

Medical plan; availability of hospitals, isolation and quarantine facilities, disease surveillance and testing, and critical care training; Ensuring the availability of essential medical equipment such as PPE, masks, gloves and ventilators, production procurement, imports and distribution are among the empowered groups.

In addition, increase human resources and capacity development; facilitating the supply chain and logistics management for the availability of necessary items such as food and medicine; coordinate with the private sector, NGOs and international organizations for response-related activities; economic and welfare measures; information, communication and public awareness; technology and data management; public complaints and suggestions; and strategic issues related to the blockade are on the list.

The groups have been empowered to formulate plans and take all steps for their implementation on time. Each group will be managed by a group of senior government officials who have been empowered to identify problem areas and provide effective solutions, outline policies, formulate plans, operations strategies, and take all necessary steps for effective and time-bound implementation of these plans, policies, strategies, decisions in their respective areas.

The Interior Ministry (MHA) in an order said that Niti member Aayog V. Paul, Dr. Renu Swaroop, DBT Secretary, V. Thiruppugazh of the NDMA ,, Joint Secretary Ministry of Health , Dr. Amardeep Garg, the Joint Secretary's Cabinet Secretariat and the Director of the Prime Minister's Office (PMO) are members of the Committee for the Emergency Medical Management Plan.

More about Covid-19 >

Meanwhile, C.K. Mishra, Secretary, EF&CC, Vinod Yadav, Chairman Railway Board, Dr Randeep Guleria, Director AIIMS, Dr Raman R, Gangakhedkar, Head ECD, ICMR, Jiwesh Nandan, AS, Defence, Rachan Shah, AS, Cabinet Secretariat, Vikas Sheel, Joint Secretary, Ministry of Health , Shrikhar Paradeshi, Joint Secretary and Mayur Maheshwari Director in the PMO are the members of the committee for the group for availability of hospitals, isolation and quarantine facilities, disease surveillance and testing and critical care training.

On Friday, the total number of Covid-19 cases in India rose to 35,364, with 1,152 people dying from the pandemic across the country and 9,064 cured.