On this day in 1995: India won their fourth Asia Cup title

NEW DELHI: It was on April 14, 1995, when India managed to lift its fourth Asian Cup title.

Under the leadership of Mohammad Azharuddin , India defeated Sri Lanka in the tournament final by eight wickets in the Sharjah Cricket Stadium .

Chasing 231, India lost its two-wicket opening with just 58 runs on the board as Sachin Tendulkar (41) and Manoj Prabhakar (9) were sent back to the ward.

It was then that Azharuddin and Navjot Singh Sidhu they gathered at the fold and formed a stand of 175 races to take India above the line on eight terrains.

Brief notices

Explore the writings

Azharuddin and Sidhu remained undefeated at 90 and 84 respectively.

While bowling, Ventakesh Prasad and Anil Kumble He divided two wickets each to reduce Sri Lanka to 230/7 in the fifty allocated surpluses.

The 1995 Asia Cup was played in a round-robin tournament where each team played the other once, and the top two teams qualified for the finals.

In the tournament, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh participated.

India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka all had four points at the end of the round-robin stage, but India and Sri Lanka qualified for the final on the basis of better run-rates.

So far, 14 editions of Asia Cup have been played and India has managed to win the tournament seven times.

In the last edition in 2018, India won the tournament after defeating Bangladesh in the final.

Sri Lanka has won the Asian Cup five times, while Pakistan has managed to accomplish the feat twice.

The Asia Cup will also be played later this year, but at this time, the fate of the competition is at stake due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic.