The main leaders of the Congress will meet today to mark the strategy for the next session of the Parliament

NEW DELHI: A central group will meet on Wednesday to discuss the strategy for the next one, the sources said.

Among the main leaders of the Congress, Ghulam Nabi Azad, P Chidambaram, Ashok Gehlot, Mallikarjun Kharge Ahmed Patel, Jairam Ramesh, Randeep Surjewala and KC Venugopal, who are part of the central group led by the party leader, AK Antony, will be present at the meeting that will take place later today in the congressional war room at 15 o'clock, Gurdwara Rakabganj highway.

However, president of the United Progressive Alliance Sonia gandhi He will not attend the meeting, as he will embark on his inaugural visit to his parliamentary constituency, Rae Bareli, after winning from the seat in the recently concluded elections in Lok Sabha.

According to sources, the party will also discuss the appointment of Congress Leader in Lok Sabha and the President of Congress. Rahul Gandhi Lack of will to continue as party president.

In addition to Rahul, Thiruvananthapuram deputy Shashi Tharoor, Anandpur Sahib deputy Manish Tewari, Berhampore deputy Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury Adhiranjan Choudhary and deputy Kaliabor, Gaurav Gogoi, among others, are some of the likely names that will lead the party in Lok Sabha. The appointment will be finalized by Sonia.

Mallikarjun Kharge, who was elected as Leader of the Congress in Lok Sabha during 2014-19, is not the race after losing the Lok Sabha election from Gulbarga constituency.

In addition to this, party leaders would decide the names of the secretary of the Congress Parliamentary Party (CPP), Chief Whip and two other whips, and the Deputy Leader in Lok Sabha.

On June 1, Sonia was elected as leader of the Congress Parliamentary Party for the fourth consecutive term after the general elections.

The first meeting of the members of Lok Sabha number 17 will be held on June 17. The newly elected members will be sworn in on June 17 and 18. The election of the President will take place on June 19.

The budget will be presented on July 5.