Congressional parliamentarians, AAP and TMC hold separate protests against the government over the Delhi riots

NEW DELHI: Congress, Trinamool and parliamentarians organized separate dharnas on Monday near the statue of Gandhi in Parliament, demanding answers from the government in Delhi on the first day of the second half of the Budget Session.

Covering his eyes with black bands and holding a finger on his lips in an apparent imitation of the Three Monkeys of Gandhi, parliamentarians such as Mohua Mitra, Sukhendu Shekhar Rai were part of the protest.

Congress Leaders Rahul Gandhi , Adhir Ranjan Choudhary, Shashi Tharoor and others held banners demanding answers about the riots in Delhi and the resignation of the Interior Minister Amit Shah .

Another protest, this time by four AAP parliamentarians, Sanjay Singh, Bhagwant Mann, N D Gupta and Sushil Gupta, was held in front of the statue of Gandhi's Parliament against violence in Delhi. They raised slogans of BJP Murdabad

At least 42 people died and more than 200 were injured during communal riots in northeast Delhi.

Opposition deputies have also given notice in Lok sabha and to discuss the riots in Delhi.

Those who gave notice include Congress leader in Lok sabha Adhir Ranjan Choudhary, NK Premachandran (RSP), PK Kunjalikutty (Muslim League), Elamaram Kareem (CPIM), Binoy Vishwam (CPI)