Vasantotsav's classical and fusion music impressed Mumbaikars

The 20th edition of Vasantotsav saw some melodious performances by acclaimed music teachers such as Padma Bhusan Dr N Rajam , Padma Bhushan Ustad Zakir Hussain , Padma Shri Pandit M Venkatesh Kumar with a focus on classical voice, classical instrumental and fusion music.

Organized by the Ajivasan Academy of Music , headed by Padma Shri Suresh Wadkar , the event is a tribute to the legend Acharya Jialal Vasant. Every year Ajivasan Academy honors a musician for his/her immense contribution in the field of performing arts. In its 88th glorious year, this time the award was presented to Padma Bhushan Dr. N Rajam.

The afternoon saw the presence of Anup Jalota, Sukhwinder Singh , Shekhar Ravjiani, Taufique Qureshi, Deepak Pandit among others.

The event created magic when the masters of the music industry gathered to give the public a fascinating day. They left the audience delighted with their musical experience.

Suresh Wadkar said, “We have been organizing Vasantotsav for 20 years now. It is a celebration of culture and music. Every year we have teachers from the music fraternity perform live. We also honor a musician for his/her immense contribution in the field of performing arts.





Every year, Acharya Jialal Vasant Sangeet Niketan honors an eminent artist with the Uttam Vag-Geykar Jialal Vasant Award. This award was instituted in 2001 in honor of Acharya Jialal Vasant, who was a Uttam Vag-Geykar, an accomplished musician, competent in the three fields of music, namely Vocal, Instrumental Music and Dance.

Vasantotsav1jpg IMG_6227

Over the years artistes awarded with 'Uttam Vag-Geykar Jialal Vasant Award' are Pt. Jasraj (2001), Pt. Shivkumar Sharma (2002), Pt. Balamurali Krishna (2003), Pt. Bimsims Joshi (2004), Pt. Ramnarayan (2005), Pt. Hariprasad Chaurasia (2006), Smt. Lata Mangeshkar (2007), Smt. Hema Malini (2008), Ustad Zakir Hussain (2009), Pt. Vishwa Mohan Bhatt (2010), Dr. L. Subramanium ( 2011), Pt. Ajoy Chakrabarty (2012), Ustad Amjad Ali Khan (2013), Ustad Ghulam Mustafa Khan (2014), Smt.Asha Bhosle (2015), Smt.Kishoritai Amonkar (2016), Pt.Birju Maharaj (2017), Pt.Cannulal Misra (2018), John Mclaughlin (2019)