The president names Arvind Kejriwal as the next CM of Delhi; 6 ministers to take an oath

NEW DELHI: President appointed on Friday Arvind Kejriwal as the new head of ministers of Delhi after his low majority of seats in the recent elections to the Delhi assembly.

According to an official notification, the President also appointed six MLAs as ministers of the Delhi government following the advice of the prime minister.

The six ministers who will take an oath along with Kejriwal on February 16 are: Kailash Gehlot, Imran Hussain and Rajendra Gautam.

The President has been pleased to appoint Shri Arvind Kejriwal to be the chief minister, National Capital Territory of Delhi with effect from the date he is sworn in, the notification said.

A separate notification said that the President also accepted Kejriwal's resignation as prime minister of the NCT of Delhi along with his council of ministers with immediate effect.

However, he will continue to act as prime minister until the new prime minister swears, he said.

In the Delhi polls, the AAP recorded a massive victory by winning 62 of the 70 seats, while the BJP accumulated the remaining eight seats. Congress left blank for the second time in a row.

Kejriwal will take an oath on Sunday.