Goa Assembly first to approve motion of congratulation for CAA: CM Sawant

PANAJI: The Goa Assembly has become the first to pass a 'congratulation motion' in support of the Citizenship Amendment Law, the prime minister said.

Sawant said this reflected the true gratitude of the Goa people towards the historic decision made by the central government led by BJP.

The state Assembly on Monday approved the motion congratulating Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the Minister of Interior of the Union, Amit Shah, for enacting the CAA, amid a strike by members of the opposition Congress and the Goa Forward Party.

I am delighted that the Goa Assembly has had the privilege of being the first to pass a congratulatory motion in support of # CAA2019. This is the true feeling of gratitude and support of the people of Goa towards the historic decision of Prime Minister @narendramodi ji and HM @AmitShah ji, Sawant said in a tweet Monday night.

In the 40-member House, the ruling BJP has 27 MLAs, including the speaker, who were present during the approval of the congratulation motion, in addition to two independent legislators who support the government led by the saffron party.

NCP MLA Churchill Alemao, who also supports the state government, was absent.

The majority of the Catholic MLAs of the BJP supported the motion, which was moved by Atanasio Monserratte and Clafacio Dias on the first day of the Assembly budget session.

Opposition MLAs in the House include five members of Congress, three from the Goa Forward Party (GFP), one from the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) and an Independent.

Members of Congress and GFP, led by opposition leader Digambar Kamat, created the uproar and rushed to the Chamber Well demanding that President Rajesh Patnekar reject the motion.

They later organized a strike saying that they had submitted a notice seeking a discussion about the new citizenship law and the proposed National Citizens Registry (NRC) throughout the country.

When addressing the House, Sawant said few leaders were cheating people in the CAA.

Opposition members do not ignore the Law. They are aware of it, but they try to deceive people on purpose, he said.

The CAA, under which Indian citizenship will be granted to non-Muslim refugees from Pakistan, Bangladesh and Afghanistan, entered into force on January 10. It was approved by Parliament on December 11, 2019.