India vs New Zealand, 5th T20I: India beat New Zealand by 7 races, rare notch 5-0 cal

MONTE MAUNGANUI: India drowned New Zealand once again to turn around a seven-run victory in the fifth T20 International, giving them a 5-0 series bleached in the shortest format on Sunday.

Indian pacemakers, led by always reliable Jasprit Bumrah They shared seven wickets with each other during 25 races in 7.2 match changes to restrict the Kiwis to 156 by nine while defending 163 by three.

Bumrah conceded only 12 runs in his four overs and got rid of three batters, throwing bowling during death deliveries.

The total of India was built around the alternate pattern Rohit Sharma '60-stroke hit after they chose to hit.

Tim Seifert (50) and Ross Taylor (53) maintained the Black caps in search of a consolation victory, but the hosts fell back near the finish line

This is only the third time that India has bleached opponents in the T20 series and the first time in a five-match rubber. India had left the West Indies blank 3-0 in 2019 and defeated Australia 3-0 in 2016.

New Zealand had a bad start and quickly declined to 17 for three in the final quarter. Bumrah had Martin Guptill (2) lbw, and Sundar knocked down Colin Munro (15). The exhaustion of Tom Bruce did not help the situation either.

Taylor and Seifert joined at that juncture, making 99 runs for the fourth wicket, raising the vision of an unlikely victory.

Seifert reached his half century with 29 balls, including five four and three six. while Taylor reached his half century in 42 balls. He hit five legs and two six.

They took 34 Shivam Dube runs in the tenth, after which KL Rahul , who led in absence of injured Rohit Sharma, had to take corrective measures. He brought back his frontline pacers and they both etched out wickets.

Navdeep Saini (2-23) fired Seifert and then Bumrah knocked down Daryl Mitchell (2) with a scorching yorker.

The persecution of New Zealand was almost over when Mitchell Santner (6) escaped from Shardul Thakur (2-38) and Manish Pandey kept a good catch running for a long time.

Ish Sodhi hit 16 of 10 balls to provide some fireworks in the end, but it wasn't enough.

Previously, Rohit, batting at number three, retired injured after injuring his left calf while hitting a six and left the field uncomfortably. He faced 41 balls and connected three four and three six.

Virat Kohli was expected to rest, with Rohit entering, and it was the only change for Wellington India. Rishabh Pant was ignored once again.

For New Zealand, Kane Williamson did not recover on time and Tim Southee led the team once again.

Despite Rohit's return, Sanju Samson (2) continued to open the entrances and did not work again. However, another opportunity arose when he hit the extra coverage directly and was out for two races.

KL Rahul (45) and Rohit added 88 runs for the second wicket, providing vital momentum to the Indian innings.

The in-form duo dominated the Black caps ' attack and put on 50 off just 35 balls. Rahul hit four fours and two sixes in his 33-ball stay.

He fell in twelfth place against the game streak and finished with 224 runs in the series, the most for an Indian batter in any bilateral T20I series.

Sharma scored his 25th half-century T20I with 35 balls. He tried to accelerate, but then he was injured in 17 and retired.

The loss of Rahul and Sharma affected Indian entries, and they lost all momentum in a wicket in slowdown.

Shreyas Iyer hit 33 of 31 balls, including a four and two six, but couldn't beat the 170 score.

Manish Pandey scored 11 not out of four balls, with a four and a six.