Pakistan vs Bangladesh: Bangladesh Mustafizur ax for Pakistan's first test

DHAKA: Bangladesh on Saturday lost pace of bowler Mustafizur Rahman and remembered Rubel Hossain for the first test of the two match series against Pakistan which starts in Rawalpindi next week.

Mustafizur was in the series of two tests against India in November, but he was not chosen for any of the games due to his bad form and physical condition.

Mustafiz was eliminated for his poor performance. He enters and leaves the team for quite some time and does not play longer format matches regularly. His performances on the white ball are not satisfactory, said head coach Minhajul Abedin.

Opening batters Imrul Kayes , Shadman Islam and off-spinner Mehidy Hasan were also left out due to injury while the wicketkeeper-batsman Mushfiqur Rahim excluded due to security issues.

Opening batter Tamim Iqbal returned to the side of the Test after skipping the Indian series for family reasons, while Bangladesh also recalled hitters Najmul Hossain and Soumya Sarkar .

"Soumya has been picked as a backup player. Our first choice openers are Saif Hasan and Tamim. We have picked Soumya in the squad if coach makes plan to play him at seven as an all-rounder as they ( Pakistan ) have good number of quality fast bowlers," said Minhajul.

Bangladesh are due to depart for Pakistan on Tuesday for the first Test scheduled for February 7-11.

The second test will be played from April 5 to 9 in Karachi, after an international day on April 3.

Bangladesh visited Pakistan earlier in January amid tight security for a three-match Twenty20 international series in Lahore, which they lost 2-0.

Bangladesh Cricket Board President Nazmul Hassan last week expressed satisfaction with the security provided to visitors during the Twenty20 series and added that there was no reason not to participate again in the Test series.

Equipment: Mominul Haque (Capt), Tamim Iqbal, Saif Hasan, Najmul Hossain, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mohammad Mithun, Liton Das, Taijul Islam, Nayeem Hasan, Ebadat Hossain, Abu Jayed, Al-Amin Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Soumya Sarkar.