Pakistan remembers Faheem Ashraf, Bilal Asif for the Bangladesh test

LAHORE: Pakistan recalled Saturday all terrain Faheem Ashraf and out of spinner Bilal Asif for the first Test against Bangladesh that starts in Rawalpindi next week.

Ashraf, 26, showed many promises in his debut Test against Ireland in 2018 when he scored 83, but then faced injury problems and was ruled out after the South Africa tour in January last year.

Bilal, 34, played the last of his five tests against New Zealand in December 2018 and was not selected last year.

Senior hitter Azhar Ali will lead the team.

Head coach and head coach Misbah-ul-Haq said that Ashraf had a good performance in the final of the national tournament two months ago.

We have this option to play year-round against Bangladesh and Ashraf took five wickets in the final of the Quaid-e-Azam trophy, so we have selected him, Misbah said.

The first test begins in Rawalpindi from February 7.

Bangladesh had agreed to tour Pakistan in three phases and, after playing, three twenty-twenty internationals returned home earlier this week.

They will play the first Test and then return again for the only one-day international test (April 3) and the second Test (April 7-11), both in Karachi.

Misbah said Pakistan would have to play at its best level despite beating Bangladesh 2-0 in the Twenty20 three-game series, with one game over.

There is no guarantee that if a computer does not work well in one format, neither will it do better in the other format, Misbah said. They are a brave team and will not be under pressure.

Both tests are part of the current world championship of tests played by the nine best teams.

Currently, India leads the championship with 360 points followed by Australia (296), England (146) and Pakistan (80).

The two best teams in the table will play the June 2021 final in England.

Equipment : Azhar Ali (captain), Abid Ali, Asad Shafiq, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Bilal Asif, Fawad Alam, Haris Sohail, Imam-ul-Haq, Imran Khan, Mohammad Abbas, Mohammad Rizwan, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood, Yasir Shah.