World Cup: MS Dhoni can not use 'Balidaan' badge on gloves, says ICC

MUMBAI: Cricket's global governing body (ICC) put a damper on the controversy over MS Dhoni's glove logo in the World Cup by saying that the regulations do not allow the Indian holder to have those badges.



ICC has responded to the BCCI to confirm the logo shown by MS Dhoni in the previous match it is not allowed to be worn in your maintenance gloves in the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 2019.

The regulations for ICC events do not allow any individual message or logo to be displayed on any item of clothing or equipment. In addition to this, the logo also violates regulations in relation to what is allowed in the guard gloves, ICC said in a statement sent to the media on Friday night.

Dhoni-gfxDhoni-gfx

Previously, Dhoni had told the BCCI that if the regiment's dagger badge on his maintenance gloves was perceived as a violation of the International Council of Cricket (ICC) rules book, he would happily take them away from the matches to follow.

The ICC had previously requested the BCCI to investigate the matter after television cameras captured Dhoni's glove insignia in the match against South Africa on Wednesday. The underlined rule of the governing body in this regard states that players can not use any logo or a word written on their accessories that carries a personal message.

While Dhoni certainly deserves to use the Balidaan logo with pride, considering that he did a rigorous training with the regimental elite four years ago to win it, the batter-keeper can not use it in a tournament like the World Cup.

Dhoni-gfx2Dhoni-gfx2

Shortly after the controversy broke out, Dhoni kept in touch with the BCCI officials who alerted him to what the rules say. In line with this, Dhoni told the board that he does not want more stress on the matter in the middle of such an important tournament and, therefore, will follow the written word.

If it is not for the personal message that the Balidaan logo bears, the BCCI has not found any other violation by Dhoni because the badge, which means sacrifice, is not of a commercial, religious or military nature.



However, the ICC thinks otherwise.

Indian team sources said they support Dhoni's decision to use the emblem, considering how close they have seen their former captain involved in the elite to the regiment after he was conferred the title of lieutenant-colonel. However, the same team members added that Mahi Bhai they will be the first to understand it and not use it, in case of not being under the rules of the tournament.

In an interview with a news agency on Friday, the administrator appointed by the BCCI court, Vinod Rai, said the BCCI supports Dhoni in the matter and added that the badge was not religious or commercial in nature.

It is not the dagger of the paramilitary regiment that is engraved on their gloves. So, Dhoni is not violating the ICC regulations, Rai said, according to the citation. However, BCCI officials left the CoA chief misinformed about all the rules surrounding this issue.

comments