PV Sindhu, Tai Tzu Ying star attractions of Premier Badminton League 5

CHENNAI: the best ferries in India PV Sindhu and B Sai Praneeth along with former No. 1 in the female world Tai Tzu Ying will be the star attractions in the fifth edition of the Premier Badminton League (PBL), which starts Monday.

Prasad Mangipudi, executive director of SportzLive, said Saturday at a press meeting that seven teams will compete for top honors in the league, which will witness some of the best in action in the world and offers a total prize pool of Rs six million. rupees

The big names, apart from the world champion Sindhu, who will participate are Tai Tzu of Chinese Taipei, Olympic silver medalist Christinna Pedersen (women's doubles), former world No. 9 Tanongsak Saensomboonsuk and Indian ferry Sai Praneeth, Parupalli Kashyap Lakshya Sen and Satwiksairaj Rankireddy .

Praneeth of Bengaluru Raptors, a bronze medalist in the world championship last year, said the league had played an important role in creating badminton more popular, adding that he was eager to face some of the best ferries during the tournament.

"This league has played a major role in making badminton even more popular and has taken the sport to greater heights. We hope to play some amazing matches over the next few days here in Chennai," he said.

He said the league helped the juniors a lot as it allowed them to learn from the best players around the world.

Christinna Pedersen, who will return to the league with the Awadhe Warriors, said: India feels like a second home. We, the Danish players, always hope to return to PBL, which I think is the strongest league in the world.

Rising star Lakshya, part of Chennai Superstarz, said the league would provide a platform to improve its game and also provide much-needed exposure to young ferries.

The seven teams in the fray are Awadhe Warriors, Bengaluru Raptors, Mumbai Rockets, Hyderabad Hunters, Chennai Superstarz, North Eastern Warriors and Pune 7 Aces.

The event, organized by SportzLive under the auspices of Asociación de badminton de la India , will be broadcast live on Star Sports and will be broadcast live on Hotstar.

In addition to Chennai, the matches will be held in Lucknow and Hyderabad.

The final will be held in Hyderabad on February 9.