Ranji Trophy: Odisha pip Haryana for a wicket, ensures the fourth victory

ROHTAK: Odisha Tailenders Basant Mohanty and Pappu Roy kept his nerve to wrest an exciting victory from a wicket over the Haryana hosts in his Ranji Trophy Fixture on Tuesday.

By needing 32 runs to win with three wickets in hand on the last day, overnight batters Rajesh Dhuper (32) and Rajesh Mohanty (21) left the task unfinished when they left three races before the goal.

But Odisha's 11th hitter, Roy handled the pressure quite well and hit Ashish Hooda by the winning limit, sealing his fourth five-game victory. Odisha (28 points) consolidates its position at the top of the group C ranking.

The middle pacemaker Suryakant Pradhan, who returned the best course of his career on 11/122, was declared the man of the match.

In the first innings, Pradhan's six wicket tour restricted the hosts by a miserable 90, while his five in the second rehearsal ensured that Odisha pursued a small goal of 179.

Pradhan also contributed to the bat (12 runs) in the midst of Odisha's mid-order collapse, chasing the miserable goal.

Short scores

In Rohtak: Haryana 90 and 248. Odisha 160 and 182/9; 58.1 overs (Rajesh Dhuper 32, Govinda Poddar 30, Basant Mohanty 6 not out, Pappu Roy 4 not out; Ajit Chahal 7/80). Odisha won by one wicket. Points: Odisha 6, Haryana 0.

In Delhi: Jammu and Kashmir 360 and 201/5 declared; 66 overs (Shubham Singh Pundir 102 not out, Parvez Rasool 45). Services 242 and 146; 72.2 overs (Arjun Sharma 54; Rasool 3/23, Mohammed Mudhasir 3/45). Jammu and Kashmir won by 173 races. Points: Jammu and Kashmir 6, Services 0.

In Nagothane: Maharashtra 434 and 48/2; 5.5 overs (Naushad Shaikh 26 not out). Jharkhand 170 et seq. 311; 98.1 overs (Kumar Suraj 92, Saurabh Tiwary 87; Satyajeet Bachhav 4/124, Mukesh Choudhary 3/49). Maharashtra won by eight wickets. Points: Maharashtra 6, Jharkhand 0.

In Guwahati: Chhattisgarh 318 and 252/5; 74 overs (Harpreet Singh 102 not out, Sumit Ruikar 75). Assam 464/9 declared. Drawn match. Points: Assam 3, Chhattisgarh 1.

In Agartala: Uttarakhand 90 and 148/8; 66 overs (Vijay Jethi 81 not out; Manisankar Murasingh 3/49). Tripura 279/5 declared. Drawn match. Points: Tripura 3, Uttarakhand 1.