Narendra Prathap moves towards the second gold

MOODBIDRI: The middle and long distance runner Narendra Prathap Singh of the University of Mangalore, who is looking for gold in the national cross-country race to be held in Telangana on January 19, collected his second gold medal in the 5000m race on the penultimate day of the 80th. All interuniversity athletics of India is located on Sunday. Narendra, like her 20km walk gold on the day of the opening of the match on Thursday, also collected this gold with a new meeting record.

At 14: 17.77 minutes, Narendra improved the previous record that was in the name of Suresh Kumar of the University of Punjabi at 14: 19.39 minutes. Admitting that he was nervous at the start of the race, Narendra said that his confidence grew as the final glimpsed and that the gold with a new meeting record for the record set on a 20km walk is satisfactory. Now I am looking forward to bringing laurels to the university in Telangana, he said.

The second record of the meeting came in the form of Jyothi Y, from Acharya Nagarajuna University, which pocketed gold in 100-meter obstacles for women in 13,037 seconds. She improved the 13.72 second mark that was jointly in the name of G Gayathri of Madras university and Sapna Kumari of the Vinoba Bhave University, Hazaribag. Sapna in silver bags with a time of 13,239 seconds. The University of Calicut pocketed gold in a mixed relay first presented at this meeting.

Mangalore University continued to top overall leader board with 127 points with six gold, seven silver and four bronze medals. Madras university is in second place with 70 points while Mahatma Gandhi University, Kottayam is placed third with 47 points. Alva’s Education Foundation is presenting cash award of Rs 25000 to those setting meet records, Rs 15000 for gold medallist, Rs 10000 for silver medallist and Rs 5000 for bronze medallist.

Final results):

Men: 5000m: 1. Narendra Prathap Singh, Mangalore, 14: 17.77min (NMR) 2. Adesh, Mangalore, 14: 30.02 3. Kisan Tadvi, Savitribai Phule Pune University (SPPU), Pune, 14: 36.77; Javelin throw: 1 Manu D P, Mangalore, 73.94 m 2. Yashvir Singh, Maharshi Dayanand University, Rohtak, 73.47 3. Harish Kumar, Maharaja Ganga Singh University (MGSU), Bikaner, 73.11; 3000m obstacle course: 1. Atul Poonia, MGSU, 9: 20.03min 2. Prince Raj Mishra, National Institute of Physical Education Lakshmibai, Gwalior, 9: 25.21min 3. Sumit Kumar, University of Panjab, Chandigarh, 9: 28.00 ; Obstacles of 110m: 1. Elden Noronha, University of Mumbai, 14.26sec 2. Debarjun Murmu. Mangalore, 14.40 3. Ronald Babu, Mahatma Gandhi University (MG), Kottayam, 14.55.

Women: 5000m: 1. Komal Jagadale, SPPU, 17: 04: 13min 2. K M Jyoti, University of Panjab, 17: 04.92 3. Seema, University of Panjabi, Patiala, 17: 08.03; Javelin throw: 1. N Hemamalini, University of Madras, 48.81 m 2. Monika, Chaudhary Devi Lal University , Sirsa, 46.27 3. Manpreet Kaur, Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar, 45.67m; Obstacles of 100m: 1. Jyothi Y, Acharya Nagarjuna University, Guntur, 13.037sec (NMR) 2. Sapna Kumari, Vinoba Bhave University, Hazaribag, 13.239 3. Aparna Roy, Kerala University, 13.554; Heptllon: 1. Sonu Kumari, Lovely professional university , Phagwara, 4640 points 2. Rimpy Dabas, Mangalore, 4565 3. Mariya Thomas, University of MG, 4492; Shot: 1. Kiran Baliyan, Chaudhary Charan Singh University, Meerut, 15.69m 2. Poorna Raorane, Mumbai University, 14.45m 3. Srishti Vig, Mahatma Jyotiba Phule Rohilkhand University, Bareilly, 14.32

4x400 mixed relay: 1. University of Calicut, 3: 24.65 min. 2. University of MG, Kottayam, 3: 27.94 3. University of Punjabi, 3: 28.189.