Services hit Maharasthra for tickets and 94 runs

(Eds: Introduction of recasts, add more results)

New Delhi, January 5 () The medium pacemakers Diwesh Pathania and Sachidanand Pandey each took five wickets each while the Services beat Maharashtra for one inning and 94 races in a Ranji Trophy 'C' Group match, here on Sunday.

Resuming his night score of 93 for five, Maharashtra's second inning doubled for just 147.

The visitors lost to Naushad S Shaikh (41) by adding only one run when Pandey (5/56) induced an advantage, taken by goalkeeper Nakul Verma.

Starter Murtaza Trunkwala, who retired injured on Saturday, returned to the fold but did not last long, falling to Pathania (5/49) by 9 after reaching two limits.

Vishant More, who was hitting 33 during the night, added only three runs to his score before being defeated by Pandey.

There was a brief resistance from the lower order, but finally Maharashtra was divided into 48.1 overs.

The 11th hitter Manoj Ingale (14 was not, 5 balls) was served twice and six before Pathania finished with Mukesh Choudhary's wicket (14).

The services won their second victory to add seven points to their kitten.

The services had scored 285 in their first innings after grouping their rivals by 44 and then reduced visitors to 93 by 5 in second entries in stumps on the second day of Saturday.

Brief scores:

Maharashtra: 44 and 147 in 48.1 overs (Naushad Shaikh 40; Diwesh Pathania 5/49, Sachidanand Pandey 5/56)

Services: 285 in 95.2 overs (Ravi Chauhan 65, Arjun Sharma 47, Vikas Hathwala 47; Manoj Ingale 5/73, Anupam Sanklecha 2/78)

In Ranchi:

Jharkhand 259 and 103 for 4 in 28 overs (Md Nazim 37)

J&k:441in87.4surpasses(abdulsamad128,suryanshraina76,abidmushtaq50; Varun Aaron 3/69, Ashish Kumar 3/102).

In Dehradun:

Assam 294 all in 92 overs (Riyan Parag 123, Gokul Sharma 47; Sunny 3/34, Mayank Mishra 3/55, Rahil Shah 3/71)

Uttarakhand: 121 and 83 all in 35.2 overs (Unmukt Chand 41; Mukhtar Hussain 6/15, Ranjit Malli 4/27)

Assam: 7 points, Uttarakhand: 0.

In Raipur:

Haryana 123 and 258 all in 72.4 overs (N R Saini 55, S R Chauhan 42; Veer Pratap Singh 4/49, Vishal Singh 3/38)

Chhattisgarh: 119 all in 35.1 overs (Vishal Singh 45 not outside, Jiwanjot Singh 24; AK Chahal 5/25, Harshal V Patel 4/40) and 33 for 3 in 13 overs.

In Agartala:

Tripura 288 for 6 declared in 82 overs (Milind 105 not out, M B Mura Singh 72, S M Singha 65; Rajesh Mohanty 3/78) Odisha: 5 for no loss in 4 overs. SS AT AT