Ranji Trophy: services take full control, reduce Maharashtra to 93/5 on day 2

NEW DELHI: Services seized the advantage against Maharashtra on the second day of his Ranji Trophy Group C match on Saturday, with the visiting team requiring another 148 races to avoid a loss in the innings.

Services made 285 in their first innings after bundling out Maharashtra for 44 and then reduced the visitors to 93 for 5 in the second innings.

Resuming at 141 for 4, Services were well-served by Ravi Chauhan's half-century (65, 180 balls, 6 fours) and useful knocks of 47 each by Vikas Hathwala and AP Sharma as the lead swelled to 241.

Services then left Maharashtra tottering at 93 for 5 to take full control of the match at the Air force Complex Ground in Palam.

Ruturaj Gaikwad fell for a first-ball duck after a score of 4 in the first inning, while the other starter MS Trunkwala (1) was forced to retire injured.

The experienced Ankit Bawne , who failed in the first innings, once again cut an unfortunate figure when Sachidanand and Pandey knocked him down by a six-ball duck.

Chirag Khurana (4) was eliminated by Pandey, while Rahul Tripathi (11) He was fired by Diwesh Pathania.

Naushad S Shaik (40 batting, 85 balls, 4 fours) and wicketkeeper Vishant More (33 batting, 80 balls, 6 fours) then defied the Services attack for close to 25 overs and ensured that Maharashtra did not suffer any more setbacks.

For the hosts, Sachidanand and Pandey, of medium rhythm and right arm, collected three portholes.

There was no possible game between Tripura and Odisha in Agartala for the second consecutive day.

Brief scores:

Maharashtra 44 all out in 30.2 overs (PS Poonia 5/11, Sachidanand Pandey 3/18) and 93 for 5 in 34 overs (NS Shaikh 40*; Sachidanand Pandey 3/20) vs Services 285 all out in 95.2 overs (Ravi Chauhan 65, AP Sharma 47, Vikas Hathwala 47, Rajat Paliwal 42; MD Ingale 5/73, AA Sanklecha 2/78).

In Ranchi: Jharkhand 259 in 84 overs (Saurabh Tiwary 81, Kumar Deobrat 35, Abid Mushtaq 5/56) vs J&k135for3in36overs(suryanshraina76; Ashish Kumar 3/46).

In Dehardun: Assam 294 in 92 overs (Riyan Parag 123, Gokul Sharma 47, Kunal Saikia 36; Sunny 3/34, Mayank Mishra 3/55, Rahil Shah 3/71) vs Uttarakhand 32 for 4 in 19 overs (Ranjeet Mali 3/11) .t Raipur: Haryana 123 with 28.4 overs (AK Chahal 34 without out, Ankit Kumar 26; Pankaj Rao 3/26) vs Chhattisgarh 119 with 35.1 overs (Vishal Singh 45 without out, Jiwanjot Singh 24; AK Chahal 5/25, Harshal V Patel 4/40).