1st T20I: Jasprit Bumrah increases spices in the India-Sri Lanka contest in the year of the T20 World Cup

GUWAHATI: man back Jasprit Bumrah it will be cynical for all eyes during India's first T20 international against Sri Lanka in 2020, where its homonymous world meeting will have priority especially for the 'Men in blue'.

For four months with a stress fracture in the back, Bumrah, 26, is that precious diamond in this Indian setting, which had been wrapped in cotton during the rehabilitation period.

So much so that he was even exempt from playing first-class domestic cricket for Gujarat after the intervention of the president of the BCCI Sourav Ganguly , taking into account the workload that will have to be done after the international return.

If 2019 focused on the over 50 format, the current year will witness that the Indian team plays about 15 games before its T20 World Cup campaign against South Africa begins in Perth in October.

There are slots that will be blocked and until the Indian Premier League ends, a clearer picture is unlikely to appear. But that won't stop the head coach Ravi Shastri and pattern virat Kohli to roll the ball in this current series.

It all starts here at Barsapara Stadium on Sunday, as the largest city in Assam is slowly returning to normal after protests against the Citizens Amendment Act (CAA).


The Indian team would review how the likes of Navdeep Saini and Shardul Thakur react to pressure off situations of death along with Bumrah in the absence of first line sprinters Mohammed Shami (rested), Deepak Chajar (stress fracture) and Bhuvneshwar Kumar (hernia sporty).

Washington Sundar is still work in progress and he would like to put up with performances that can ensure that only one between Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal can be picked up in playing XI at any given point of time.

Shivam Dube is a great hitter for sure, but if his seam on top of the matter can withstand the onslaught on docile tracks until Hardik Pandya comes in completely and returns to action he has not yet been seen.

And that persistent question about the consistency of Rishabh Pant with Sanju Samson that had already warmed the banks for six consecutive T20 games and the invisible presence of Mahendra Singh Dhoni , doing things a little disturbing.

While Bumrah, as expected, attracts more eyeballs, the series is also important for Shikhar Dhawan , Making a comeback in the team of the knee injury post.

It will also seek to have an impact in the absence of the rested vice-captain Rohit Sharma with KL Rahul in a hot way on the other end.

Upon his return to competitive cricket, the southpaw of Delhi crushed 140 against Hyderabad in a Ranji Trophy match, as he will seek to score in a format, where he has 272 runs in 12 innings to demonstrate his efforts in 2019.

In his latest T20I series, Sri Lanka suffered a 0-3 defeat in Australia, as its batters fought and will be under scrutiny.


They relied heavily on Kusal Perera, who was their main runner with 100 runs in three games in Australia in October-November.

They would also expect the return of former Sri Lankan captain Angelo Mathews, who last played a T20I against South Africa in August 2018.

Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Oshada Fernando and Danushka Gunathilaka were their batting pillars in their 3-0 victory in Pakistan in October, as they hope to return between races.

Wanindu Hasaranga, who turned his legs, led the bowling alley in Pakistan with eight three-game wickets with an average of 9.87, but was ineffective in Australia, as he will also seek to contribute.

India lost its only T20 match against Australia on October 10, 2017, which was marred by the impact on the team's bus on the return to the hotel after the game.

It's time for Kohli's men to rewrite their poor record here.


India: virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Panish manish , Sanju Samson, Rishabh Pant (week), Shivam Dube, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Tray , Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Navdeep Saini and Washington Sundar.

Sri Lanka: Lasith Malinga (Captain), Danushka Gunathilaka, Avishka Fernando, Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Kusal Perera, Niroshan Dickwella, Dhananjaya de Silva, Isuru Udana, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Oshada Fernando, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lahiru Kumara, Kusal Mendis, Laksun Rajdada.