Follow the path of Kerala: Pinarayi to CM of 11 states in CAA

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: Days after the Kerala assembly passed a resolution demanding that the controversial Citizenship Law (Amendment) be discarded, the prime minister on Friday sent letters to 11 non-BJP ministers asking them to take similar measures. He stressed the need for joint efforts to strengthen the demand for repeal of the Law, as well as against the proposed national implementation of the National Registry of Citizens (NRC).

The letter was sent to Mamata Banerjee (West of Bengal), Arvind Kejriwal (Delhi), (Jharkhand), Uddhav Thackeray (Maharashtra), Nitish Kumar (Bihar), and S Jaganmohan Reddy (Andhra Pradesh), Kamal Nath (Madhya Pradesh), Amarinder Singh (Punjab), Ashok Gehlot (Rajasthan) Naveen Patnaik (Odisha) and V Narayanasamy (Puducherry).

“Apprehensions have arisen between large sectors of our society as a result of the Citizenship Law (Amendment). The need for time is unity among all Indians who wish to protect and preserve our precious values ​​of democracy and secularism. People from various sectors of society, regardless of any difference, must remain united to preserve the basic principles of our policy, which constitute the cornerstone of Indian democracy, Vijayan wrote.

The CM referred to the state government's decision to stop all activities related to the National Population Registry (NPR) and said it was made in view of a conviction that NPR would eventually lead to NRC. The states, which have the opinion that the CAA should be repealed, may consider similar steps to make it a revelation for the CAA and NRC proponents, he said.