Ranji Trophy: Shaw, Rahane fail while Karnataka packs Mumbai for 194

MUMBAI: Ajinkya Rahane & Prithvi Shaw faltered yet again as Karnataka pacers wreaked havoc & bundled out Mumbai for a paltry 194 on the opening day of their Elite Ranji Trophy game.

However pattern Suryakumar Yadav (77 off 94 balls; 10x4 & 2x6) stood alone at BKC ground when all other batsmen failed. His knock ensured that the hosts at least went past the 175-run mark.

Meanwhile, in the third session, there was an injury scare for Shaw, who fell while saving an overthrow & hurt his left-shoulder. He was taken off the field.

Earlier, Karnataka's four-pronged rhythm attack justified the decision of pattern Karun Nair to play first on a windy morning as they ran through Mumbai's batting lineup.

The first game Aditya Tare (0) was dismissed by the middle player V Koushik (3-45). Rahane joined Shaw when the two tried to stabilize the ship. Rahane (7) started but couldn't convert it.

Rahane got a 'life' on 7 when pacer Ronit More (2-47) failed to latch on a return catch. However, More struck twice in the 13th over, first removing Rahane & then Siddhesh Lad (4) within a space of three balls. While Rahane edged behind to keeper BR Sharath, Lad was bowled as Mumbai slumped to 34/3.

Shaw played a quiet blow, but again could not turn his start. The right-handed pint-sized batter made 29 of 57 balls before playing with the stumps of the experienced right-hand runner Abhimanyu Mithun (2-48). Shaw gave six legs.

Left-arm speedster Prateek Jain (2-20) then removed two Mumbai batters Sarfaraz Khan (8) & Shams Mulani (0). Khan was caught in the slip cordon, while Mulani was trapped in front of the wicket. Mumbai were reduced to 86/6 at lunch.

On the break, Surya was undefeated with 33 in the company of Shashank Attarde (35 of 51 balls; 6x4).

Surya & Attarde then rallied the innings with their 88-run stand off 92 balls with Attarde playing the second fiddle. Surya played a responsible knock as he took the team out of the rubble. He first launched an attack on Shreyas Gopal as Mumbai amassed 19 runs in the 28th over.

Surya completed his fifties with a Koushik movie even after lunch, the two continued to frustrate opposition bowlers. However, Koushik broke the stage when Attarde approached the first slip when Mumbai lost his seventh gate in 148.

Despite losing partners, Surya kept playing his shots. However, he threw his wicket away & was caught down the leg off Mithun.

Then it was only a matter of time, since Mumbai was finally shot 194 in 55.5 overs with Shreyas Gopal (1-24) taking the last wicket.

In reply, Karnataka openers Devdutt Padikkal (32; 5x4) & R Samarth (40 not out) gave the visitors a sedate start by conjuring 68 for the first wicket.

However, left arm spinner Shams Mulani pegged back Karnataka by removing Padikkal & Abhishek Reddy (0) in the same over as Karnataka were 68/2.

Rohan Kadam (4) was fired by Officer Attarde.

On the stumps, Karnataka was 79/3 with skipper Karun Nair (0 batting) with Samarth, as Karnataka still follows 115 runs.

Brief scores:

Mumbai 194 (Suryakumar Yadav 77; Shashank Attarde 35; V Koushik 3-45, Prateek Jain 2-20) vs Karnataka 79/3 (R Samarth 40 batting, Shams Mulani 2/13).

Karnataka was dragged for 115 races.

In Kanpur: Uttar Pradesh versus Tamil Nadu: Do not play on opening day.

In Vadodara: Baroda 201 (Deepak Hooda 86; Aditya Waghmode 31; Amit Mishra 4-51; Himanshu Sangwan 3-57) versus Railroads 24/2.

Railways dragged by 177 races.

In Dharamshala: Himachal Pradesh 175 (A P Vashisht 33, P S Khanduri 31; Avesh Khan 5-52; Ishwar Pandey 3-51) vs Madhya Pradesh 87/4 (Rameez Khan 36 batting; P P Jaswal 2-16).

Madhya Pradesh was dragged by 88 races.