Ranji Trophy: Mumbai beats Baroda for 309 races

VADODARA: Mumbai domestic giants began their 2019-2020 Ranji Trophy season with a winning note, as they defeated Baroda by 309 races in their Elite Group B game here on Thursday.

Baroda set a rigid goal of 533 races and needed another 460 races to win.

The hosts were reeling at 74/3 when the game resumed and they had to play all day to settle for a draw and avoid an absolute defeat.

But Shams Mulani, who had shined with the bat in the first rehearsal and also chose a fifteen, ran through the Baroda line, as the side was packed for 224.

Mulani finished with the figures of 4-72, since the 41 national champions went to kill.

The left arm spinner was skillfully supported by the off-spinner Shashank Attarde (2-61) and the medium pacemaker Akash Parkar (2-16), as Mumbai scored six points from the lung opener.

For the hosts, Deepak Hooda (61; 8x4 and 1x6) and Abimanyu Rajput (53; 7x4), two shot down, tried to delay the inevitable by playing challenging punches.

The duo conjured up an 81-run position for the fourth wicket and frustrated the Mumbai bowlers.

However, Parkar broke the stand by trapping Rajput in front of the wicket.

Mumbai then connected Baroda by eliminating the patron Krunal Pandya (11), the experienced Yusuf Pathan (14) and Bhargav Bhatt (0) in rapid succession to leave them reeling at 7-197.

After Attarde eliminated Hooda, it was all over for Baroda and they were finally grouped by 224.

Mumbai had declared 431 and 409/4 in his two innings and doubled Baroda by 307 in his first rehearsal.

The pint-sized starter, Prithvi Shaw, had fired a quick 202 shot in the second inning and continued with his purple patch.

The national giants have many positive aspects of the game and would be eager to go in the next round.

Short scores : Mumbai 431 and 409/4 declared against Baroda 307 and 224 (Deepak Hooda 61, Abhimanyu Singh Rajput 53; Shams Mulani 4-72). Mumbai won by 309 races.

In Meerut : Railways 253 and 270 versus Uttar Pradesh 175 and 62/2 (Souls Shaukat 33, Aryan Juyal 13; T Pradeep 1-15). Drawn match.

In Dindigul : Karnataka 336 and 151 (Devdutt Padikkal 39, Sharath Belur 28; R Ashwin 4-46, K Vignesh 3-31) versus Tamil Nadu 307 and 154 (Abhinav Mukund 42, Murugan Ashwin 23 not outside, Krishnappa Gowtham 8-60). Karnataka won by 26 races.