Diana Edulji seeks courtesy passes for India-Windies T20I in Mumbai

MUMBAI: Diana Edulji , a former member of the Committee of Administrators (CoA) appointed by the Supreme Court, has written to Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) looking for courtesy passes for the third T20I match between India and the West Indies scheduled for Wednesday.

The former captain of the Indian women's cricket team made the request in an email sent to the president of MCA, Vijay Patil. Edulji said in the past that he used to get courtesy passes from the MCA for the matches in Mumbai, but this time the same thing has not happened.

I, Diana Edulji, former India women's cricket captain, used to get two complimentary president box passes since the inception right up to the last IPL. Mr (Sharad) Pawar and Mr (Ashish) Shelar used to send the passes to my residence.

You can check the records of all previous matches where you will find my name along with Sachin (Tendulkar), (Sunil) Gavaskar, Nari Contractor , (Dilip) Vengsarkar and late Shri (Ajit) Wadekar.

I am the only captain of the Mumbai women's team, so it was included. During the regime of Mr. Ravi Sawant and the CoA, he used to receive two passes for bilateral and IPL, Edulji wrote by mail.

I request you as President of MCA, please indicate that my name is restored and that I can obtain my passes. I look forward to hearing from you positively, he said.

When PTI contacted her, the former 63-year-old cricketer confirmed having sent the mail to the president of the MCA, but added that he still doesn't have the passes.

A senior MCA official who since Edulji wrote to the president of the MCA, was his prerogative to receive a call to issue passes.

The official said he has not approached the MCA secretary, Sanjay Naik, or the joint secretary Shahalm Shaikh to obtain the passes.

Patil could not be reached for his comments.

Meanwhile, some MCA officials, such as Naik, Shaikh and apex board members, including Ajinkya Naik and Vihang Sarnaik, have given part of their tickets to member clubs.

India and the West Indies, tied 1-1 in three-game rubber, will face each other in the Wankhede Stadium to decide the winner of the series.

The hosts won the opening of the lung in Hyderabad, while the visitors restored parity by securing the second international T20 in Thiruvananthapuram.