TOISA: the celebration time is here again

NEW DELHI: The Times of India Sports Award is a tribute to Indian athletes. This award is an effort to honor the past, celebrate the present and nurture the future in Indian sports. After three successful editions, the fourth edition is just around the corner. The timeline for TOISA 2019, presented by the Government of Assam, covers the 2018 Commonwealth Games and Asia, multiple World Cups and World Championships, in various sports. From the exploits of Manika Batra in the CWG 2018 to several heroes of the Asian Games, PV Sindhu winning a historic gold in the World Championship, passing through Saurav Kothari winning the World Billiard Championship title, to Manu Bhaker and Saurabh Chaudhary dominating the Mixed Team events in the four World Cups. in 2019, for the Indian cricket team that marks its tour of Australia, with the first series of tests from India that won Down Under.

This year, the TOISA jury is made up of distinguished personalities, such as former Indian hockey captain Zafar Iqbal, former soccer captain Bhaichung Bhutia, former Indian cricketer Gautam Gambhir, former athletic star Ashwini Nachappa, the twice Paralympic gold medalist Devendra Jhajharia and editor-in-chief of Times Internet Limited, Rajesh Kalra.

Meet the distinguished members of the jury of TOISA 2019:


Winner of the gold medal of the Moscow Olympic Games in 1980 and former Indian hockey captain, Zafar Iqbal is one of the best hockey players in India. He represented India at the 1978 Asian Games in Bangkok and was the team captain at the Asian Games in New Delhi in 1982. He became the Indian coach after retirement and led the team to the silver medal at the Games Asians in Hiroshima in 1994. He has received the Arjuna and Padma Shri award for his invaluable contribution to Indian hockey.


The bearer of the torch of Indian football in the international arena and possibly one of the most skilled Indian footballers in history, Bhaichung Bhutia, was the first soccer player in India to sign a professional contract with a European club. In a dazzling race, the former Indian captain and striker played more than 100 international matches. On their list of compliments they are winning the Nehru Cup, the LG Cup, SAFF Championship (three times) and AFC Challenge Cup. Upon receiving numerous awards, Bhaichung was also declared three times the Indian Footballer of the year.


The former Indian champion was the top scorer in two of the victories in the India World Cup title in the final (2007 World T20 and 2011 ODI World Cup). Gautam Gambhir has more than 10,000 international races (Tests, ODI and T20I) to his credit and played more than 200 international matches for India. Gambhir also took Delhi to the Ranji Trophy title in 2007-08 and the Knights of Kolkata Knight to two IPL titles. He is now a member of Parliament.


Devendra Jhajharia was the first Indian para-athlete to win two medals (both gold) at the Summer Paralympic Games. Jhajharia's achievements include winning gold medals at the 2004 Athens Paralympic Games, the 2002 FESPIC Games in South Korea and IPC Athletics World Championship 2013 , apart from a silver in the same event in 2015 and one in the Asian Games 2014 . He has received the Arjuna prize, Padma Shri and Khel Ratna.


1988 The winner of the Arjuna prize and former star of the track Ashwini Nachappa beat PT Usha on two separate occasions. Ashwini represented India in three Games of the South Asian Federation and two Asian Games. He also participated in two world championships.


Avid athlete and journalist for more than two decades, Rajesh Kalra is the editor in chief of Times Internet. He is a member of the All India Sports Council and the Prime Minister's Olympic Task Force and is also a high-altitude trained mountaineer, a passionate mountain biker and a marathon runner.