The second voting phase begins in 20 Jharkhand seats

RANCHI: The second voting phase began on Saturday morning in 20 electoral districts, which vote in five phases to elect 81 members of the legislative assembly.

The vote began at 7 in the morning, in the middle of a strict security agreement.

While the voting exercise in 18 seats will end at 3 p.m., voters in the constituencies (East) and Jamshedpur (West) can vote until 5 p.m., according to a statement from the Electoral Commission.

The Electoral Director of Jharkhand, Vinay Kumar Choubey, said: Several of the voters who go to this voting phase are affected by Naxal. Therefore, the armed police have been deployed as part of the security measures.

Of a total of 6,066 polling stations, 949 have been declared critical and 762 sensitive in areas affected by Naxal, he said.

The CEO said 101 polling stations have been relocated due to security reasons and a free transportation service has been organized for voters to arrive at these stations to exercise their franchise.

A total of 1,016 polling stations are located in towns and cities, while 5,050 are in rural areas.

Internet streaming facilities were made available at 1,662 polling stations, the CEO said.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi He tweeted urging voters to go out in large numbers to exercise their franchise.

Of the total voting centers, there are 337 model voting centers and 94 voting centers will be supervised by voting personnel, Choubey said.

A total of 48.25,038 voters, including 23.93,437 female and 90 third-gender voters, are eligible to vote to decide the fate of 260 candidates, including 29 candidates and 73 independents, he said.

According to police sources, more than 42,000 security personnel, including central forces, have been deployed in the 20 seats distributed in seven districts.

The assembly segments that go to the polls are: Baharagora, Ghatsila (ST), Potka (ST), Jugsalai (SC), Jamshedpur (East), Jamshedpur (West), Seraikela (ST), Chaibasa (ST), Majhgaon ( ST), Jaganathpur (ST), Manoharpur (ST), Chakradharpur (ST), Kharsawan (ST), Tamar (ST), Torpa (ST), Khunti (ST), Mandar (ST), Sisai (ST), Simdega ( ST) and Kolebira (ST).

BJP leader and chief minister, Raghubar Das, faces the challenge of his former cabinet colleague and independent candidate Saryu Roy from Jamshedpur (east) headquarters.

The president of the Jharkhand Assembly, Dinesh Oraon, is competing from Sisai for a BJP ticket, while the BJP candidate and the Minister of Rural Development, Neelkanth Singh Munda, are competing from Khunti.

The president of the state unit of the BJP, Laxman Gilua, who lost the Lok sabha elections from the seat of Singhbhum, is disputed from Chakradharpur.

The AJSU party candidate and the Jharkhand water resources minister, Ramchandra Sahis, are disputing from Jugsalai.

Former Chairman of the Jharkhand Pradesh Congress Committee, Pradeep Kumar Balmachu, who recently joined the AJSU party, is competing from Ghatsila.

JDU State President Salkhan Murmu is competing from Majhgaon.

JVM-P candidate and former human resources minister Bandhu Tirkey is competing from Mandar against former MLA member Deb Kumar Dhan of the BJP.

The BJP is competing in the twenty constituencies in the second phase, while the opposition alliance of Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) and Congress are competing in 14 and six seats respectively.

The RJD, which has a total of seven seats according to the formula for sharing seats of the three opposition parties, has no candidate in this round.

The AJSU party, an ally of the NDA, which is contesting the elections of the assembly for the first time since the creation of the state, has presented candidates from 12 electoral districts in this phase.

Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik) has nominated leaders in all 20 seats, while the Bahujan Samaj Party has deployed in 14 segments.

The CPI is competing in two seats while the CPI-M is competing in one and the NCP in two.

Six candidates of the All India Trinamool Congress are also in the fray at this stage.

The first phase of the five-phase survey for thirteen constituencies concluded on November 30.

The rest of the three phases will be held on December 12, 16 and 20.

The count will take place on December 23.