Ranji Trophy: Kolhar, Jitesh return; Faiz continues to lead Vidarbha

NAGPUR: Wicketkeeper batter Jitesh Sharma He returned after two years while he opened Akshay Kolhar He was rewarded for his consistent performances at the local cricket circuit when the selection panel led by Suhas Phadkar announced the team for the opening game of the Ranji Trophy against Andhra from December 9 to 12 in Mulapadu, Andhra Pradesh.

The core of the team, led by Fazal Fazal , remained intact, which was expected considering how Vidarbha has performed in the last two seasons. Pacer Lalit Yadav, who missed the last season due to an abnormal injury during the practice session, has also been included.

According to the advice of the management of the Indian team, the rhythm of India Umesh Yadav has rested. Yadav played four tests against South Africa and Bangladesh. It is for your workload management. Once he recovers, Yadav would be included in the squad, a VCA source told TOI, who does not wish to be named.

Vidarbha has not included the opener Atharva Taide , wicketkeeper batter Siddhesh Wath and pacemakers Darshan Nalkande and Aditya Thakare in the squad. All have been named in the U23. They are very much in our scheme of things. It makes no sense to keep them in banks. Instead, it is better to play in the U23 and be ready for the game. We now have an established team and players must perform extraordinarily to enter the team. It is a good problem of abundance. Keeps everyone alert, the source said.

The batting unit, led by Wasim Jaffer and skipper Faiz, will have Ganesh Satish, Akshay Wadkar, Sanjay Ramaswamy and Mohit Kale. Allrounders Aditya Sarvate and Akshay Karnewar would give depth to the Vidarbha batting. Rajneesh Gurbani will lead the rhythm attack, which will have Yadav and the young Yash Thakur. Outside the roulette Akshay Wakhare would look for another fruitful season with the ball. Wakhare has been one of the architects of Vidarbha's rise for the past five and six years.

The selectors have also announced the Under-23 squad, which will be led by Atharva Taide. Vidarbha Under-23, which lost the semifinals of Col CK Nayudu last season, will begin the campaign against Uttar Pradesh in the city.

The junior selectors announced the Under-19 team for the Cooch Behar match against Karnataka that will be played in the city starting Friday.


RANJI TROPHY: Fazal Fazal (captain), Akshay Kolhar , Wasim Jaffer, Ganesh Satish, Mohit Kale, Akshay Wadkar, Aditya Sarvate, Akshay Wakhare, Rajneesh Gurbani, Lalit Yadav, Yash Thakur, Suniket Bingewar, Jitesh Sharma , Akshay Karnewar, Sanjay Ramaswamy.

UNDER 23 YEARS OLD: Atharva Taide (captain), Siddhesh Wath, Pawan Parnate, Nayan Chavan, Aniruddha Chaudhari, Yash Rathod, Saurabh Thubrikar, Yash Kadam, Mohit Raut, Darshan Nalkande, Parth Rekhade, Aditya Thakare, Sourabh Dhote, Nachan

UNDER 19 YEARS OLD: Aman Mokhade (captain), Harsh Dubey (vice-captain), Mohd Faiz, Rohit Binkar (wicketkeeper), Danish Malewar, Sandesh Drugwar, Prerit Agrawal, Walking Mahale, Manan Dosi, Praful Hinge, Rohit Dattatraya, Avesh Sheikh, Ganesh Bhosle, Aniket Pandey (wicketkeeper), Sushrut Baiswar.