Karun Nair will lead Karnataka in the Ranji Trophy

BENGALURU Karun Nair lead to Karnataka in its Ranji Trophy First match against Tamil Nadu in Dindigul since December 9. Shreyas Gopal It will be your attachment.

Karnataka are eyeing a treble, having annexed the Vijay Hazare and Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 titles this season. They will flex their batting might with star opener Mayank Agarwal , Nair and Devdutt Padikkal in the mix. The talented R Samarth and D Nischal will look to putting up big numbers on the board. In the previous season, Karnataka bowed out in the semifinals, losing to Saurashtra by five wickets on home turf.

The 15-member squad will be without two mainstay pacers Abhimanyu Mithun and Prasidh Krishna, both of whom are recovering from injury. Karnataka 's four-pronged bowling attack will be led by Ronit More with V Koushik, who made his white ball cricket debut with the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy last season, getting his maiden first-class call-up. David Mathias- a medium pacer and a handy batsman- who last played for Karnataka in the 2016-17 season returns to the fold. The last cog in the pace department is rookie KS Devaiah, who has got a maiden call-up.

Devaiah, 25, known for his inswingers, participated in three bouts for the XI Secretary of KSCA in the tournament by memorial invitation Dr (Capt) K Thimmappiah earlier this year. He pocketed 11 wickets at an economy rate of 2.61 and his best result was 5 of 15 against Dr. DY Patil Cricket Academy.

The selectors have opted for two specialized wicketkeepers: Sharath BR and Sharath Srinivas. Shreyas, Gowtham K and Suchith J foreseeably occupy the three slots of the spinners.

The escuadron: Karun Nair (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Devdutt Padikkal, Nischal D, Samarth R, Pavan Deshpande, Gowtham K, Shreyas Gopal (VC), Suchith J, Sharath BR, Sharath Srinivas (both WK), Ronit More, David Mathias, Koushik V, KS Devaiah.