National selectors could be granted a three-year term.

MUMBAI: While the new dispensation in the BCCI has decided to reduce the tenure of national selectors from five years to four, it is likely that the reduction in the term will apply only to the current group of selectors.

Going forward, the BCCI is contemplating a further scaling down of the term for national selectors from four years to three. The existing constitution, which was drafted and registered when the Committee of Administrators were in office, had extended the term of the national selectors from four to five years and, for now, the new dispensation in the Board is just going back to how things were until four years ago.

However, when the new selectors are appointed, president Sourav Ganguly firmly believes that even four years are long. Ganguly told TOI that the four-year term was designed taking into account the ICC World Cup cycle. But that is a thing of the past now. You can enter a period of three years to keep things fresh and in perspective.

The current reduction of the term from five years to four will only see the exit of the head of selection MSK Prasad and Gagan Khoda , his colleague from the central zone.

The three remaining selectors: Jatin Paranjpe (West), Sarandeep Singh (north) and Devang Gandhi (this) - will continue for another year.

While Prasad and Khoda had come aboard the national selection committee in 2015; Paranjpe, Singh and Gandhi joined them only in 2016. The latter will get to complete their term and Prasad will make way for a new chief selector.

There's no word yet on who will be brought as Prasad's replacement yet but leg-spinner Laxman Sivaramanakrishnan has put his hand up for the job and with Prasad's exit, the BCCI will have to appoint a selector from the south zone.

"Dilip (Vengsarkar) is keen too. He had not completed his term the last time around. But, if Paranjpe is set to continue for another year then one will have to wait and see. Let's see what Sourav and Jay have in mind," say those tracking developments.

Clause 27A (i) of the BCCI constitution says: 'The All India senior selection committee shall consist of five persons (…), one from each zone'.

It is not yet known who will replace Khoda from the central zone, even with the name of Gyanendra Pandey , from Uttar Pradesh, is doing the rounds.